If you have been charged with drug possession with intent to distribute, you are likely feeling scared and alone. You may not know where to turn or what to do next.
This is understandable, but don’t panic. Learn more about both the penalties for a conviction in New Jersey and information on how to fight these charges and protect your future.
Drug charges in New Jersey
In New Jersey, it is a crime to either sell or possess with the intent to sell a controlled dangerous substance (CDS). A CDS is any drug regulated by state law, including marijuana, cocaine, heroin, and prescription drugs.
The punishment for selling a CDS depends on the type and amount of drug involved. For example, a first offense for selling less than half an ounce of marijuana is a written warning. Any offenses after that can carry a penalty of 18 months in prison and a $25,000 fine. Selling more than five ounces of cocaine, by comparison, is punishable by imprisonment and a fine of up to $500,000.
What to do if you’re facing charges
Facing charges for possession with intent to distribute in New Jersey can be daunting. The penalties for this crime are severe, and a conviction will have a lasting impact on your life. It is important to remember that you have rights, and there are ways to fight the charges against you. Exercise your right to remain silent until you can fully explore all of the potential defense options you have.